Tips on How to Prepare a Travel Ban Waiver

On September 24, 2017, President Trump announced through Presidential Proclamation 9645 his third version of a travel ban, commonly known as Travel Ban 3.0. By its terms, the Proclamation imposes country specific restrictions on nationals from eight countries: Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Somalia. The Proclamation contains exemptions for certain individuals such as lawful permanent residents and dual nationals traveling on a passport of a non-designated country. For nationals who are not subject to an exemption but otherwise covered by the ban, the Proclamation sets forth a waiver scheme for affected nationals to demonstrate eligibility for a waiver based on three criterion: 1) undue hardship if entry is denied; 2) entry would be in the national interest; 3) entry would not pose a threat to national security or public safety.